Medical Advisory Board

Prof. David Yarnitsky

Director, Department of Neurology
Rambam Healthcare Campus, Israel

Professor David Yarnitsky is the Director of the Department of Neurology at Rambam Health Care Campus.  He also heads the Laboratory of Clinical Neurophysiology at the Rappaport Faculty of Medicine of the Technion-Israel Institute of Technology.

Prof. Yarnitsky graduated from the Rappaport Faculty of Medicine, and completed his residency in Neurology at Rambam, followed by a two-year pain and neuromuscular fellowship at the Oregon Health Sciences University in Portland.

His main research interest is in understanding pain modulation mechanisms and applying them in clinical pain practice. In addition to supervising clinical training of neurology residents, he mentors graduate and doctoral students in the neurophysiology of pain. He has won several research grants from funding agencies including the US Army, European Union, Israel Science Foundation, Binational US-Israel Foundation, Migraine Research Foundation and others. He also heads the research committee for the Neuropathic Pain Special-Interest-Group of the International Association for the Study of Pain (IASP).  In 2014, Prof. Yarnitsky received the Ron Melzack Award from the IASP for the best paper of the year in pain research, and he gave a plenary talk at the IASP world meeting.

He is the Editor-in-Chief for the European Journal of Pain, and served until recently as Associate Editor for Pain. For the past six years he has led an international forum of experts on the issue of conditioned pain modulation; the forum has already published two recommendation papers, and is about to publish a third one.

Prof. Yarnitsky has authored some 160 papers, several chapters, editorials, review articles and meta-analyses. He is a regular speaker at the World and European Pain conferences, and serves as member of scientific committees for relevant meetings

Stephen D. Silberstein, MD

Professor of Neurology
Director, Jefferson Headache Center, Thomas Jefferson University
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania

Stephen D. Silberstein, MD, is Professor of Neurology and Director of the Jefferson Headache Center at Thomas Jefferson University. He is a Fellow of the American College of Physicians, the American Academy of Neurology, and the American Headache Society. He has served the American Headache Society as President, Treasurer, and Board of Directors Member. He has served on the Publications, Scientific, and Education Committees of the American Headache Society and was Co-Chairman of the Annual Scientific Meeting. Dr. Silberstein is an active member of the American Academy of Neurology and is Co-Director of the national and international Headache Guideline Project, in cooperation with the Agency for Health Care Policy and Research. He was the Chairman of the International Headache Society meeting in Philadelphia in 2009. He is Chairman of the headache research group of the World Federation of Neurology.
Dr. Silberstein received his medical degree from the University of Pennsylvania. After completing a fellowship in neurology at the National Hospital for Nervous Diseases in London, Dr. Silberstein served as a Pharmacology Research Associate in the Toxicology Laboratory of Clinical Science at the National Institutes of Mental Health, and completed a neurology residency at the Hospital of the University of Pennsylvania.
Dr. Silberstein is the Senior Editor of the 8th edition of Wolff’s Headache and Other Head Pain, Associate Editor of Cephalalgia and CNS Drugs, and a present or prior member of the Editorial Board of Headache; Cephalalgia; Acta Neurologica Scandinavica; Journal of Neurology, Neurosurgery & Psychiatry; and Topics in Pain Management. He is an ad hoc reviewer for many publications, including The New England Journal of Medicine; Brain, The Lancet, JAMA, Mayo Clinic Proceedings, Annals of Neurology, and Neurology.
Dr. Silberstein has more than 300 publications to his credit. He lectures extensively on the pathogenesis, neurobiology, diagnosis, and treatment of headache. He was awarded a Lifetime Achievement Award by the American Headache Society in 2016.

Charles E. Argoff, MD

Charles E. Argoff, MD, is a Professor of Neurology at the Albany Medical College and director of the Comprehensive Pain Center at the Albany Medical Center, Albany NY. He is also the President of the American Academy of Pain Medicine Foundation and Section Co-Editor, Neuropathic Pain, Pain Medicine.

Argoff is a graduate of Northwestern University Medical School and served his internship in medicine and his residency in neurology at the State University of New York at Stony Brook. He is certified by the American Board of Psychiatry and Neurology and the American Board of Pain Medicine. Argoff is an active educator in the field of pain management and has written numerous educational pieces.

Argoff specializes in pain management and chronic headaches, predominately treating patients with chronic and neuropathic pain. He has expertise in several types of pain treatments, including interventional pain management and botulinium toxins.

Formerly the president of the American Academy of Pain Medicine Foundation. Dr. Argoff is a member of the American Academy of Neurology, the International Association for the Study of Pain, the American Academy of Pain Medicine, and the American Pain Society, among other professional organizations